The firm was founded by veteran money manager Jean-Luc Landry in 2002. Landry was created to provide a series of momentum oriented portfolios covering the major global equity markets. At first, the company designed portfolios for Private Clients and Institutions looking for superior long-term equity returns, based exclusively on the relatively new style of investing known as Price Momentum.

During the first eight years of the company, the funds were improved through the addition of several innovations and in 2010 a significant change was made to stock selection models in order to add a value component to the portfolios. The addition of value stocks in the portfolios has the effect of reducing volatility while maintaining a high long term return potential.

In 2012, Benoit Brillon joined the firm as Chief Investment Officer with the objective of strengthening the Value component of the portfolios and to better blend the Value and Momentum factors in the Funds.

Our philosophy

We believe that markets are efficient, which implies that only a small percentage of investors can generate higher long term returns than market indices for a same level of risk.

To outperform in an efficient market a manager must use a proven method, implement it in a disciplined manner while being able to adapt it to changing market conditions.

The globalization of markets has had the effect to increase the correlation between stock markets of different countries. It has therefore become increasingly difficult to diversify international equity portfolios. However, our approach to diversify by return factors (value and momentum) continues to provide a good combination of return and stability.

Transparency

We operate with the utmost transparency. Our investment strategies require a sophisticated understanding of portfolio structure. Landry Funds use strategies based primarily on quantitative selection criteria that are applied systematically.

Transparency is also ensured through regular communications and meetings with each of our client advisors and through on-line access to our portfolios.

Risk management

It is impossible to completely eliminate the risk of a portfolio. It is possible however to reduce it through diversification. Not only are we using asset diversification (equities-bonds) to reduce risk but we also take advantage of the diversification of return factors by primarily focusing portfolios on Value and Momentum factors.

La firme a été fondée par Jean-Luc Landry en 2002. Landry a été créé pour offrir une série de portefeuilles orientée vers le momentum de prix sur tous les principaux marchés mondiaux. La compagnie concevait au début des portefeuilles en se basant exclusivement sur le relativement nouveau style de placement nommé momentum de prix pour des clients privés et des institutions à la recherche de rendements boursiers supérieurs à long terme.

Durant les huit premières années de la compagnie, les fonds ont été continuellement améliorés grâce à l’ajout de plusieurs innovations et en 2010 un changement significatif a été fait dans les modèles de sélection de titres pour ajouter une composante de titres de type « valeur » dans les portefeuilles. L’ajout de titres « valeur » dans les portefeuilles permet de réduire la volatilité tout en maintenant le potentiel de rendement élevé à long terme.

En 2012, Benoit Brillon s’est joint à la firme comme chef des placements avec l’objectif de renforcer la composante valeur des portefeuilles et de mieux jumeler les facteurs valeur et momentum dans les fonds de placement.

Notre philosophie

Nous croyons que les marchés sont efficaces, ce qui implique qu’un pourcentage restreint d’investisseurs peut générer un rendement de portefeuille à long terme supérieur aux indices de marché à un même niveau de risque.

Pour surperformer dans un marché efficient un gestionnaire doit utiliser une méthode éprouvée, l’appliquer d’une façon disciplinée tout en étant capable de l’adapter aux conditions changeantes du marché.

La globalisation des marchés a eu pour effet d’augmenter la corrélation entre les bourses des différents pays. Il est devenu par conséquent de plus en plus difficile de diversifier des portefeuilles d’actions internationales. Par contre, notre approche de diversification par facteurs de rendement (valeur et momentum) continue de procurer une bonne combinaison de rendement et de stabilité.

Transparence

Nous travaillons avec la plus grande transparence. Nos stratégies d’investissement nécessitent une connaissance approfondie de la structure du portefeuille. Les fonds Landry utilisent des stratégies basées principalement sur ​​des critères de sélection quantitatifs qui sont appliquées systématiquement.

La transparence est également assurée par des communications régulières et des rencontres avec chacun de nos conseillers à la clientèle et par l’accès en ligne à nos portefeuilles.

Gestion du risque

Il est impossible d’éliminer complètement le risque d’un portefeuille. Il est possible cependant de réduire le risque grâce à la diversification. Nous utilisons non seulement la diversification d’actifs (actions-obligations) pour réduire le risque mais aussi la diversification de facteurs de rendement en concentrant les portefeuilles surtout sur les facteurs valeur et momentum.