Landry Investment Management offers investment strategies that are unique and top performing for Canadian, US and Global markets by harnessing the strong potential of price momentum and the long term advantages of value investing.

Landry Investment Management’s role is to efficiently extract from the markets the excess return from both those factors.

Advantage of the momentum factor

The persistence of price return – or momentum – is one of the most powerful and best-documented market phenomenon on the stock market. A group of securities whose price has increased the most over the past 12 months will continue to outperform over the following 12 months. Therefore, a systematic quantitative strategy based on momentum can generate long-term returns that significantly outperform the market.

The following table shows excess returns that can be obtained with a momentum approach:

Simulation of the Canadian momentum strategy (1996-2013)
Return Standard deviation Sharpe ratio
Momentum strategy 19.8% 20.7% 0.96
S&P/TSX Composite 9.4% 15.7% 0.60
Added value 10.4% 5.0% 0.36

Simulation before fees. The standard deviation measures volatility. The Sharpe ratio measures risk-adjusted performance. Sources: S&P Capital IQ and Landry Investment Management

Advantage of the value factor

It has been shown that securities whose price is very low compared to the fundamental value of the company generate superior long-term returns. It is not the long-term performance of the company that is important but the purchase price of the security relative to its value at a given point in time. Therefore, a portfolio of carefully selected value securities will generate superior long-term returns while being much more stable than the general market.

The following table shows excess returns that can be obtained with a value approach:

Simulation of the Canadian value strategy (1996-2013)
Return Standard deviation Sharpe ratio
Value strategy 18.8% 15.4% 1.22
S&P/TSX Composite 9.4% 15.7% 0.60
Added value 9.4% -0.3% 0.62

Simulation before fees. The standard deviation measures volatility. The Sharpe ratio measures risk-adjusted performance. Sources: S&P Capital IQ and Landry Investment Management

Value and Momentum (VALMO)

Value and momentum factors don’t provide higher returns at the same time. In other words, the correlation between the two is usually very low and sometimes negative. A portfolio consisting of two factors (VALMO) provide not only higher returns but will also be more stable than the market in general because of the low correlation between the two factors. The VALMO combination works especially well at two crucial moments, at the beginning and at the end of a bull market.

The following tables show how the VALMO combination behaved during two market turnovers:

Simulation of Canadian strategies over 36 months (1998-2000)
Return Standard deviation Sharpe ratio
Momentum strategy 24.3% 30.3% 0.80
Value strategy 14.2% 16.5% 0.86
VALMO strategy 19.2% 21.1% 0.91
Simulation of Canadian strategies over 36 months (2007-2009)
Return Standard deviation Sharpe ratio
Momentum strategy 8.2% 25.5% 0.32
Value strategy 12.5% 22.8% 0.55
VALMO strategy 10.4% 22.3% 0.47

Simulation before fees. The standard deviation measures volatility. The Sharpe ratio measures risk-adjusted performance. Sources: S&P Capital IQ and Landry Investment Management

The following graph shows information on both factors and on the VALMO combination:

Proven methodology

For almost 15 years, by drawing on academic research as well as performing their own research, Jean-Luc Landry and his team have been developing a quantitative methodology that exploits the momentum and value factors for the portfolio management of Canadian, US and Global equities.

Advantages of VALMO portfolios: 

  • Diversification
  • Resilience to declines
  • Outperformance on the long term

Canadian and US Equity

Before founding his firm in 2002, Jean-Luc Landry managed a very well performing fund using only the momentum factor for stock selection. Following the founding of his firm he devoted several months to improve its techniques in the selection of Canadian equities and developed a model for U.S. equities. The purpose of the improvements is to reduce the volatility of returns by ensuring that the portfolio’s positions better stick to the trend of market momentum while increasing portfolio diversification.As a result, the portfolios are rebalanced at least once a month since the beginning of the Canadian Equity Fund operations. Many other improvements were added over the years that followed. A few years later, the research team became interested in the influence of the value factor on portfolio performance and this led the firm to introduce value type securities in every fund managed by Landry Investment Management in 2010.Benoit Brillon joined the firm in 2012 as Chief Investment Officer to add a macro-economic dimension and a fundamental analysis dimension in the management of the funds. Here is the evolution of the Canadian Model: EvoEn

Global Equity

The momentum factor is powerful in several European countries and in Australia while in Japan the value factor is more powerful. A value-momentum (VALMO) portfolio that invests in these countries thus offers a good combination of excess return and stability.

Adaptive Value

The adaptive value style is an investment style that combines a rigorous bottom-up fundamental value approach and a strong understanding of the links between business cycles and stock market returns. This style respects the core initial characteristics of value investing. Value investing is a well-documented time tested approach for investing. This also includes in-depth quantitative and fundamental analysis of companies focusing on those that have the best mid-term to long term capital appreciation potential. The style is complemented by a proprietary quantitative top-down process that provides a systematic and methodical analysis of the global economy.  This combination of empirical and quantitative research allows us to produce quality forecasts of the economy.

Gestion de portefeuille Landry offre des stratégies de placement novatrices et performantes pour les marchés boursiers canadien, américain et mondial, qui allient le fort potentiel du style momentum aux grands avantages de l’investissement valeur. Le rôle de Gestion de portefeuille Landry est d’extraire des marchés le rendement excédentaire de ces deux facteurs et de les combiner de la façon la plus efficace possible.

L’avantage du facteur momentum

La persistance du rendement d’un groupe de titres sur des périodes de 12 mois est l’un des phénomènes les plus puissants et des plus documentés sur le marché boursier. Le groupe de titres qui a généré le rendement le plus élevé sur un marché au cours des 12 derniers mois continuera à surperformer pendant les prochains 12 mois. Par conséquent, un portefeuille composé systématiquement de ces titres génèrera un rendement significativement supérieur à la bourse en général à long terme. Le tableau suivant montre les rendements excédentaires qui peuvent être atteints grâce à une approche momentum :

Simulation de la stratégie canadienne momentum (1996-2013)
Rendement Écart-type Ratio Sharpe
Stratégie momentum 19,8% 20,7% 0,96
S&P/TSX Composite 9,4% 15,7% 0,60
Valeur ajoutée 10,4% 5,0% 0,36

Simulation avant les frais. L’écart-type mesure la volatilité. Le ratio Sharpe sert à mesurer le rendement ajusté pour le risque. Sources: S&P Capital IQ et Gestion de portefeuille Landry

L’avantage du facteur valeur

Il a été démontré que les actions dont le prix est très bas comparativement à la valeur fondamentale de la compagnie génèrent un rendement supérieur à long terme au marché en général. Ce n’est pas le rendement à long terme de la compagnie qui prime ici mais surtout le prix d’achat du titre relativement à sa valeur à un point donné dans le temps. Par conséquent, un portefeuille de titres valeur bien sélectionnés va générer des rendements supérieurs à long terme tout en étant beaucoup plus stable que la bourse en général. Le tableau suivant montre les rendements excédentaires qui peuvent être atteints grâce à une approche valeur :

Simulation de la stratégie canadienne valeur (1996-2013)
Rendement Écart-type Ratio Sharpe
Stratégie valeur 18,8% 15,4% 1,22
S&P/TSX Composite 9,4% 15,7% 0,60
Valeur ajoutée 9,4% -0,3% 0,62

Simulation avant les frais. L’écart-type mesure la volatilité. Le ratio Sharpe sert à mesurer le rendement ajusté pour le risque. Sources: S&P Capital IQ et Gestion de portefeuille Landry

Valeur et momentum (VALMO)

Les facteurs valeur et momentum ne donnent pas des rendements supérieurs en même temps. En d’autres termes, la corrélation entre les deux est habituellement très basse et parfois négative. Un portefeuille composé des deux facteurs (VALMO) procurera non seulement des rendements supérieurs mais il sera aussi plus stable que le marché en général à cause du peu de corrélation entre les deux facteurs. La combinaison VALMO fonctionne d’ailleurs bien surtout à deux moments cruciaux, soit au début et à la fin d’un marché haussier. Les tableaux suivants montrent comment s’est comporté la combinaison VALMO lors de deux tournants de marché:

Simulation des stratégies canadiennes sur 36 mois (1998-2000)
Rendement Écart-type Ratio Sharpe
Stratégie momentum 24,3% 30,3% 0,80
Stratégie valeur 14,2% 16,5% 0,86
Stratégie VALMO 19,2% 21,1% 0,91
Simulation des stratégies canadiennes sur 36 mois (2007-2009)
Rendement Écart-type Ratio Sharpe
Stratégie momentum 8,2% 25,5% 0,32
Stratégie valeur 12,5% 22,8% 0,55
Stratégie VALMO 10,4% 22,3% 0,47

Simulations avant les frais. L’écart-type mesure la volatilité. Le ratio Sharpe sert à mesurer le rendement ajusté pour le risque. Sources: S&P Capital IQ et Gestion de poretfeuille Landry

Le graphique suivant montre de l’information sur les deux facteurs et sur la combinaison VALMO :

Méthodologie éprouvée

Depuis près de 15 ans, en s’appuyant sur la recherche académique et sur sa propre recherche, Jean-Luc Landry et son équipe ont développé une méthodologie sophistiquée pour exploiter les facteurs valeur et momentum dans la gestion de portefeuilles d’actions canadiennes, américaines et internationales. Avantages des portefeuilles VALMO :

  • Diversification
  • Résilience à la baisse
  • Surperformance à long terme

Actions canadiennes et américaines

Avant de fonder sa firme en 2002, Jean-Luc Landry gérait un fonds très performant en utilisant uniquement le facteur momentum pour la sélection de titres. Suite à la fondation de sa propre firme il a consacré plusieurs mois à améliorer ses techniques de sélection d’actions canadiennes et a développé un modèle de gestion pour les actions américaines. Le but des améliorations est de réduire la volatilité des rendements en s’assurant que les titres en portefeuille collent mieux à la tendance du marché tout en augmentant la diversification du portefeuille. Il en résulte que les portefeuilles sont réajustés au moins une fois par mois depuis le début des opérations du fonds d’actions canadiennes. Plusieurs autres améliorations sont venues s’ajouter au cours des années qui ont suivi. Par exemple, la proportion d’un titre en portefeuille est maintenant surtout influencée par la puissance du signal momentum mais parfois aussi par son poids dans l’indice. Quelques années plus tard, l’équipe de recherche s’est intéressée à l’influence du facteur valeur sur la performance des portefeuilles et ceci a amené la firme à introduire des titres de type valeur dans tous les fonds gérés par Gestion de portefeuille Landry en 2010. Benoit Brillon s’est joint à la firme en 2012 comme chef des placements pour ajouter une dimension macro-économique et une dimension d’analyse fondamentale des titres valeur dans la gestion des fonds. Voici l’évolution du modèle canadien: Evofr

Actions internationales

Le facteur momentum est puissant dans plusieurs pays d’Europe et en Australie tandis qu’au Japon le facteur valeur est plus puissant. Un portefeuille valeur-momentum (VALMO) qui investit dans ces pays offre donc une bonne combinaison de rendement excédentaire et de stabilité.

Valeur adaptatif

Le style valeur adaptatif est un style d’investissement qui combine une approche valeur fondamentale ascendante et une solide compréhension des liens entre les cycles économiques et les rendements boursiers. Ce style respecte les caractéristiques de base du style d’investissement valeur. Le style valeur est une approche bien documentée et testée à travers le temps. Le style inclut aussi une analyse quantitative et fondamentale approfondie de sociétés, se concentrant sur celles qui ont le meilleur potentiel d’appréciation du capital à moyen et long terme. Le style est complété par un processus quantitatif descendant propriétaire qui fournit une analyse systématique et méthodique de l’économie mondiale. Cette combinaison de recherche empirique et quantitative nous permet de produire des prévisions de qualité sur l’économie. Ce processus intégré est propriétaire et a prouvé fournir un modèle de rotation des facteurs et des secteurs supérieur pour gérer la sélection de titres à travers le cycle boursier.